first day of summer blog

First Day of Summer Blog
It’s June, the twentieth-first and it’s starting out to be a cool day; go figure. Far be it for me to complain, for there are other things to bitch about.
For instance, I have begged my landlord to repair the leaky roof for over 3 years and now, while I try and work, the roofers are doing the Tango on a tin roof. [No cats involved]
I suppose beggars can’t complain…well, they can, but who wants to hear it, right?
Speaking about beggars. I am in the process of creating another story called Beggar Man Thief.
Everyone remembers the rhyme; Rich man, poor man, Indian chief
Lawyer, doctor, beggar man, thief?
Well, I’ve taken the rhyme and turned it into a truly unique story about children who have to beg to survive and how a guy working for a charity makes it his life’s mission to save the children from starvation, ignorance, and human nature’s lusts.
The story starts out with corruption bankrupting the charity that forced our hero to use begging as a source of income to feed his children. He also intends to clothe tem and educate the lost orphans of India, but the Russian Mafia has other plans for the children. And that is as far as I have written.
Hemmingway claims that I will jinx the story if I reveal the story before it’s written. There is some truth to that statement. By telling the story, subtle changes may occur in the telling that wasn’t intended in the author’s mind.
The truth of the matter is I haven’t thought it out much pass what I have already told you, so I haven’t jinx myself yet.
A curious thing regarding the white slave trade as a theme in a couple of my books. I suppose it started with the story behind Dragon Shifters. A true story I have revealed in a previous blog. I’m not usually the kind of guy that wil stand on his soap box and preach, but I was horrified by the fact that white slave trade is still alive and well. When I consider human nature will always have constant craving; I shouldn’t be surprise at my theme. The only explanation is writers try to mimic Life, so I endeavor.

Leave a comment